It’s Just Paint

I was having a wonderful discussion with my husband this morning about our roles in our kink in fetish lives. We were discussing many of our friends and acquaintances in this lifestyle and were waxing philosophic about The mistakes, errors, and overall humorous situations that we have encountered during our relationship. Much of it centered on our fetish lives and the lives of those that we know.we were discussing this in the context of going to a fine restaurant and dining on a dish that we had never eaten before. I expressed to my husband my fear during a recent experience at a fine restaurant in Boston. He had done much research, found a wonderful restaurant and made the reservations. When we arrived, I looked at the menu and was instantly mortified. Not only was I not familiar with any of the selections, but I found myself too afraid to try any of the items on the menu. However, after assuaging my fears, he ordered for me and I proceeded to have one of the best meals at any restaurant I’ve visited. As we talked about this episode and how it relates to our lives in the kink and fetish world, my husband made a profound statement, “remember dear, it’s just paint”.

“What do you mean”? I asked.

His point was this. Whether it’s eating a meal, painting a room, or enjoying something in the kink and fetish world, we really can have an endless number of do-overs. We shouldn’t become so afraid of our encounter with kink and fetish that we fail to try something that we’ve never done before. Remember, it’s just like painting a room. If you don’t like the color, you paint over it and begin again. It is the same with fetishes and kink. Don’t be too afraid to try something new. look at it as a blank canvas, or a new wall. You put the paint on the medium or substrate, and if you don’t like it, you’re allowed to paint over it. It’s not a one time good deal, but a lesson in creating a picture or environment that you enjoy immensely

Years ago, I would not have been open for two forms of public play. But now, one of my favorite things to do, is put on my collar, have my master and husband attach my leash, and go out in public. It gives me a sense of adventure and try and I enjoy it more than anything in terms of public play. Yes, it may make people uncomfortable or wonder what our relationship is, but it gives me a sense of pride and enjoyment when I go out like this.

Remember. Trying new fetishes and kinks will always be like ordering a meal or painting a room. If you don’t like it, you get to do it over again, and you can do it as many times as you like. as long as you keep an open mind, the wall will always be open for painting.

Leave a Reply

